Vermont DMV Change of Address
Are you a sucker for an idyllic life? Then, Vermont is definitely a suitable place for you. The “Green Mountain State” is known for its farms stretching over large acres of land, fresh produce, wineries, breweries, and artisan foods. But, moving to a new place is always a daunting task that comes before all the excitement. When you reach Vermont, one of the first things that you need to do is to get a Vermont DMV change of address. To make this new chapter of your life go smoothly, here’s all you need to know:
Who Should You Get In Touch With For A DMV Change Of Address In Vermont?
As soon as you reach Vermont, you need to contact and notify the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Every relocator in the country needs to notify their new state’s DMV. So, it is definitely an important protocol to follow. Of course, for your convenience, you can search for the nearest DMV office instead of commuting all the way to their headquarters.
Another important thing to note is that you will get a month’s time (precisely 30 days) to notify the Vermont DMV about the address change. Some states have only 10 days to complete this formality. However, you have 30 days – ample time to get a Vermont DMV change of address.
Why To Update The Vermont DMV Change Of Address?
Simple: to be on the right side of law enforcement. You are legally required to notify the Vermont Department Of Motor Vehicles of a name or address change. Maintaining the right track record with the law automatically smoothes your stay in Vermont.
When you move to a new place, you have to update your bank details, driver’s license, address at the U.S. Postal Service, and more. Left unfinished, they will all remain inauthentic. And with inauthentic documents, your life will become all the more difficult. For e.g., if you don’t have a valid and updated driver’s license, you could get fined. A waste of money is never desirable, least of all when you’ve just moved to a new state. Your license could also get suspended if you don’t follow the protocol suggested by the law.
As suggested by the DMV, you need to update your license, permit, non-driver ID, as well as vehicle records, within the stipulated deadline. But, to update this information, you need to update your new address. Read on for a better understanding of the same.
Getting A Vermont Driver’s License When Moving From Another State
If you are applying for a driver’s license for the first time, there’s a different process that you need to follow. Moreover, you need to fulfil the eligibility criteria and appear for the written test and road test. But if you have an existing driver’s license valid in another state, you need to apply for a Vermont Driver’s License. This is applicable irrespective of whether you have an active or expired (less than 3 years) driver’s license. As part of this process, you need to pass an eye test.
Applying For A Vermont Driver’s License In Person
While applying for a Vermont driver’s license in person, here are some important points to keep in mind.
The documents you will need to carry are as follows:
During the documentation process, you will need to bring documents pertaining to four main categories. They are as follows –
- Identity and Date of Birth
- Social Security information
- Vermont Residency and Current Address
- Lawful Status in the United States (needed only for Real ID and Enhanced Driver’s License) with a minimum of 30 days remaining
In the case of the first category i.e., identity and date of birth, you can provide one of the following documents –
- Valid and unexpired passport
- Certificate of birth, marriage, adoption or divorce
- Certificate of Naturalization
- Certificate of Citizenship
- Real ID driver’s License or Identification Card
These are some of the document options to prove your identity. Ideally, only one document is enough for the first category. However, the DMV may demand additional proof in case the documents are questionable. So, to be on the safer side, you should carry at least two documents proving your identity. Moreover, these documents must be original copies as faxes or photocopies will not be accepted.
In order to obtain a new license, you will have to:
- Bring your out-of-state driver’s license (active or expired) to the DMV office
- Surrender the out-of-state one
- Submit the required documentation as listed above
You will also need to pay a certain fee, so make sure you carry the cash along with you. You’ll have to pay $32 for a new non-commercial driver’s license for 2 years’ validity, and $51 for a four-year license. Plus, don’t forget the fee for the road test: $19.00.
See also: Best Out of State Movers
Registering Your Vehicle To Vermont
Upon shifting to Vermont, you will need to register your vehicle as soon as possible, within 60 days of moving in. So, you need to add it to your to-do list. This is irrespective of whether you have newly moved to Vermont or your out-of-state license is expiring within the 60-day period.
You’ll need certain documents to register your vehicle in Vermont. Those are:
- A complete Registration Application Form (VD-119)
- Your vehicle’s title (ownership proof)
- An updated (current) odometer reading
- Purchase and Use or Sales tax dollar-amount proof, paid on the vehicle, to any previous state (not required if you’ve owned your vehicle in a tax-collecting state for over 3 years)
To register your vehicle after getting your Vermont DMV change of address, here’s the process you need to follow –
- Fill up the Application for Vermont Title and/or Registration (Form VD-119)
- Carry your ownership proof for the vehicle (Previous state title or registration form) alongside all the above mentioned documents.
- Book an appointment with your closest DMV.
Additionally, you also need to bear in mind two facts about the registration process –
- Your vehicle needs to have liability insurance coverage that is equal to or more than the minimum statutory amount.
- Within 15 days of registration, you need to take your vehicle for inspection to the nearest Vermont Licensed Inspection Station. You’ll need your vehicle insurance card for this. You’ll get a Vehicle Inspection Report (proof that your vehicle was inspected from the relevant station).
Contrary to the time restrictions for the Vermont DMV Change of Address, you will get 60 days to register your vehicle. So, an additional 30 days is enough to get your vehicle registered without rushing the entire process.
Getting A Vermont Driver’s License When Moving Within Vermont
As reiterated by the DMV, you need to notify the Vermont DMV if there’s any change in your name or address. This implies that whether you shift to a new place within or outside the state of Vermont, you need to notify authorities about your address change. The same applies to a driver’s license as well.
Once again, you will have only 30 days’ time to notify your changed address to DMV authorities. However, you will get two months (60 days) to update your driver’s license as well. A thing to note is that like most states, you will get a new driving license rather than the DMV just updating your address details. There are a few ways you can update your address when moving within Vermont:
- Online: The Vermont DMV has an option for Vermont residents who want to change their address online. All you have to do is fill up a form. You’ll need details like your current Virginia driver’s license number, a renewal letter PIN, and your social security number. However, note that in order to do this, you need to purchase an updated driver’s license with your new address on it.
- In-person: Drop in to your nearest Vermont DMV office, after booking an appointment of course. Book an appointment at 888-970-0357, and ensure you carry along a filled Replacement License Form (form #VL-040).
- Via mail: Fill up the Replacement License Form (form #VL-040) and mail it, alongside any required fees to Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles, 120 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05603-0001
Getting a Vermont DMV change of address within the state is free of cost. However, ordering a copy of your license with the updated address will cost you $32 or $51, depending on the validity you want. Also, note that you don’t need to order a duplicate license with your updated address on it.
Updating Your Vehicle Registration
Updating your address on your license at the DMV doesn’t update it against your vehicle registration. However, updating your vehicle registration means the DMV will also update your title certificate. This process is convenient since there are a couple of ways you can go about it:
- Online: The Vermont DMV has a site called the DMV Express that you can use to change your address against your vehicle registration. Once done, you receive a temporary registration valid for 10 days. You should receive your permanent registration and sticker within 4 – 6 business days.
- Over The Phone: Keep your Vermont Driver’s License number and your credit card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover) handy, and ring up 866 259-5368.
- In-person: Drop in to your nearest Vermont DMV office along with a signed registration renewal notice and the amount to pay as indicated on the renewal notice.
- Via mail: Fill up and mail the Vermont registration, tax, title application (VD-119), or mail your signed registration renewal notice instead. You also need to fill in a cheque or money order for the amount as mentioned on the renewal notice and mail it all using the included envelope to DMV, PO Box 1308, Williston Vermont 05495-1308.
Things To Keep In Mind When Moving Out Of Vermont
If you are looking to move out of Vermont, there are a few important things to note –
- You are not required to notify the state about your driver’s license’s change of address.
- You do, however, need to notify the state if you plan to move with your registered vehicle.
- After relocating to a new location, you will have to return your license plates to the state on the address – Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles, 120 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05603-0001
Once you shift to your new home in Vermont, there are only 30 days of hustle to sort your address details and update your records. Once these formalities are done, you can begin enjoying your new chapter in the state!
How Do I Update My Drivers License With A New Address?
You can change your driving license with a new address by visiting a local DMV. At the bureau or department, you can get an updated driving license and also change the address under your registration. For doing so, you will need your old driving licence, social security number, birth certificate and address proof.
Do I Need To Change My Drivers License If I Move?
Yes, if you have moved to a different state, the rules will slightly change and so, you will also need a new driving license with the updated address.
Can I Change My Driving License Address Online?
Yes, but you will need a “MyDMV” account. It will take just a few minutes to create an account and you’re good to go.
See also: Top Moving Companies for Your Relocation