Alex is the founder of 9Kilo Moving, which he started to help people easily find and choose the right moving company to make their move as stress-free and seamless as possible.
He has spent over 20 years working in the moving industry, so he knows every aspect of the business and uses his knowledge to write about the industry and give moving advice.
Rhode Island is the smallest state in the nation and its
incredibly compact size makes driving here a breeze. If you hop into a car, you
can easily cover the state in the north-south direction in less than an hour!
While it’s just 35 minutes if you drive from the extreme east to west. This
makes it easy to work your way through coastal towns, historic sites, the
countryside and more with great ease. Overall, you get to enjoy the fact that
everything can truly be within arm’s reach.
However, before you take the wheel, you would need to complete a few obligations so that you’re legally allowed to drive in the state. Getting your vehicle inspected and registered, ordering Rhode Island plates, transferring the title, and your driver’s license are few of the tasks that you would need to complete post your move.
CALCULATE MY MOVE
Read on to learn more
about Rhode Island DMV change of address and how to go about it.
You would need to contact the ‘State of Rhode Island – Division of Motor Vehicles’ in order to get the address changed on your driver’s license. The DMV has a good number of branches spread out throughout the state. But we’d like to mention that each branch caters to different requests. The department has divisions for road test sites, emissions garages and AAA offices. The services at an AAA office in particular are limited and specific. Therefore, we’d recommend visiting a DMV branch office at Cranston, Middleton, Wakefield, Warren, Westerly and Woonsocket for out-of-state transfers.
Keep in mind that you would need to notify the department
within 30 days of establishing residency in the state of Rhode Island. If you
fail to convert your license, you would face a hefty fine. So that’s precisely
the reason why we recommend setting some time aside from your daily schedule to
visit a DMV located in close proximity to you. Goes without saying, time is of
the essence here, so chop chop!
Every state in the country requires all new residents to
update the address on their driver’s license. This is mainly because each DMV
maintains a database of residents so that they can easily locate you. Once you
record your address with the DMV, any mail correspondence, fines or
registration notices will reach your new residential address. On the other
hand, your license is also a form of personal identification. If you have the
wrong address on it, you are liable for a penalty charge. To safeguard yourself
from such penalties and charges, it is absolutely necessary to notify the DMV
after you move.
To convert your out-of-state license to the state of Rhode Island, you would need to visit a DMV office in close proximity to your home. Unfortunately, there is no online process that records your request, hence you would have to physically visit the DMV branch. However, to save time, we suggest filling out the application for a license (Also, known as Form LI -1) from the comfort of your home. Do note that you can opt for a Real ID instead of the standard one while applying for the license. The upgraded Real ID can be used as a form of identity while boarding flights from October 2021.
Apart from filling the application at home, we’ve compiled a
list of everything you need to carry along with you, before you visit the DMV.
This would save you from making a second trip for documents.
The various documentation and information
needed for applying a new driver’s license are:
Proof of identity by presenting 1 of the following –
Proof of Rhode Island residency by presenting 2 of the following –
Proof of social security number by presenting one of the following –
Carry your out-of-state license to surrender it at the time of the applying for a new one
Submit the completed and signed application for license, identification card and permit (Also known as Form LI -1)
a successful verification process, we would suggest you to avoid carrying
photocopies or e-copies of any of the documents listed above. You would
possibly also need to carry additional documents to support areas where your
name has been changed. Marriage certificates, divorce decree, adoption papers,
or any court sanctioned orders are examples of supporting documents to explain
the reason for an additional suffix, last name or middle name.
Processing fees – The fee for a non-commercial license is $39.50. You can pay the fee via cash, money orders, bank checks, and credit card. The branch accepts MasterCard, Discover, Visa and American Express. Keep in mind that the fees could vary depending on whether you requested for a Real ID and the length of validity you are going for.
See also: Moving to RI
Within 30 days of moving to Rhode Island, you would need to
transfer your registration and obtain a new title for your vehicle. In addition
to that, you are even expected to acquire insurance in the state of Rhode
Island itself. Before you register your car, you would need to fill out the
application for registration and title certificate (Also known as TR-1).
Here is a list of other documents you need to carry and information you need to get your vehicle registered:
Lastly, remember that post the
registration, you would need to have your vehicle inspected within 5 days.
Processing fees – When it comes to registering your vehicle, cost would vary depending on the vehicle weight and type of service you requested. There are separate costs to factor in such as inspection fees, license plates and transfer of title fees. You can get a rough estimate from this fee chart.
If you’re going to be moving homes within the state of Rhode
Island itself, you would have 10 days to notify the DMV about your new
residential address. There are 3 ways by which you can update your address:
If you prefer the online approach to things, you can visit
the portal online to update your new residential address to the DMV. Do keep
your state ID, permit or license number handy. You can then follow the prompts
on the form and the DMV will automatically receive your request.
If you prefer notifying the DMV via mail, you would first
need to download the change of address form. Once you’ve printed out the
application and filled it out, you can drop it in the mail.
Who To Mail The Form
STATE OF RHODE ISLAND DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 600 New London Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920-3024
Lastly, if you don’t like the hassle of online
administrative processes, you can visit a DMV branch in person. You would have
to physically fill out the address change form and submit it at the office
Processing fees – There is no fee to notify the
branch about your new residential address. However, if you wish to receive new
documentation or a license, fees would be applied depending on the request you
The state of Rhode Island requires you to cancel your license plates before leaving the state. You can choose to cancel the plates online and then dispose them off at an AAA branch office. If you wish to mail the cancelled plates, you can send them to the same mailing address mentioned above. Other than returning the plates, you don’t have to notify the DMV about your move. However, you would need to begin research about the procedures to be followed at the DMV of your prospective state. We have similar guides for other states and you can refer to those for more information.
It’s true that once you move houses, there can be a load of paperwork flooding your way. But with a little bit of planning, it can be easy to tackle administrative tasks like your DMV visit with ease. Overall, being prepared in advance could help you cherish the freedom of driving around legally in the tiny little state of Rhode Island.
Fill Out the Form and Get 100% Free Moving Quote!
Expert & Professional
High Quality Work
Complete the form to get instant quotes! Its that easy!
We will send you a text with a short verification code
9Kilo brings the movers directly to you!
We'll find the top moving companies for your needs and have them
call you right away. Search no more. Just sit back and relax!
This is your estimated moving cost.
Professional movers will contact you within one business day.