Delaware DMV Change of Address
Delaware resides in the mid-Atlantic region of the United States. The clear beaches and tons of activities like hiking, sailing, bicycling along the picturesque shoreline have attracted a lot of people here. For some, the state’s zero sales tax and low cost of living have made them want to move here. So, whether it’s to explore the picturesque landscapes, be a part of top universities or seek employment here, this state welcomes all individuals and families.
Before you hit the road and move to this beautiful state, you’ll have to meet the state’s requirements for getting your driver’s license updated and your car registered here. Don’t worry, we’ve covered everything you need to know about your DMV paperwork. So keep reading as we have compiled all the information you need to know about the Delaware DMV change of address.
Who Should You Get In Touch With For A DMV Change Of Address In Delaware?
To change your address on your driver’s license, you’ll have to contact the Delaware Division Of Motor Vehicles. Unfortunately, Delaware DMV change of address cannot be done online or over the phone. You’ll have to go visit the Delaware Division Of Motor Vehicles office in person for your DMV paperwork. The state’s official website states that you must visit their DMV branches in Wilmington, New Castle, Dover, or Georgetown.
Keep in mind that your Delaware DMV paperwork and process of exchanging your out-of-state driver’s license is done within 60 days of your moving. If you forget or delay the process of informing the DMV within 60 days of your move, you’ll be charged a hefty fine. Since time is of the essence here, you’ll have to take some time out of your busy schedule and complete this legal paperwork as soon as you move to Delaware.
Why Update Your Address With The Delaware DMV?
Getting your address updated on your driver’s licence is mandatory in all states of the U.S. After you get your address updated, you can take care of the legal procedure to get your vehicle registered in the state. Your important mail correspondence, fines, registration fees, etc. will reach your new residential address only after you record your new address with the DMV.
Also, let’s not forget the penalty charges that you’ll have to suffer if you have the wrong address on your license. Your driver’s licence serves as a personal form of identification, so any incorrect information like a wrong address will definitely put you at risk.
Getting A Delaware Driving Licence When Moving From Another State
As mentioned earlier, to convert your out-of-state license to the state of Delaware, you’ll have to visit the DMV. The in-person visit can take a lot of time, so you can contact the office and see if you can get a prior appointment. You’ll first need to fill the change of address form at the DMV. Apart from this application form, we’ve compiled a list of everything you need to carry along with you before you visit Delaware DMV.
The following documentation and information will be needed for applying for a driver’s license in Delaware:
Proof of identity by presenting 1 of the following-
- A valid and unexpired U.S. passport
- A certified copy of your birth certificate
- A certificate of naturalization
- A certificate of citizenship
Proof of Delaware residency by presenting any 2 of the following-
- A lease agreement
- Utility bill (could be your gas, water, electricity, cable or sewer bill) with your name and address reflected on it
- A property tax bill
- An insurance policy
Proof of social security number by presenting 1 of the following –
- Your official Social Security card
- W-2 tax form
- A pay stub issued within the last 5 years and must contain your name and Social Security Number
Remember to carry your out-of-state driver’s license to submit it while applying for a new one.
For a successful verification process, see to it that you carry the original documents at the DMV. If at all you’ve had a name change on your important documents, you’ll have to carry some additional documents which will serve as proof of your name change. You can carry your marriage certificate, divorce decree, adoption papers, or any court-sanctioned orders as your proof of name change.
Processing fees- The fee for a non-commercial license in Delaware is $40. You can pay the fee via cash, cards, checks, or money orders. If you want any additional information on the fee structure, you can visit their license fee page on their official website.
Registering Your Vehicle To Delaware
The state of Delaware requires you to get your vehicle registered within 60 days of establishing your residency. Since the state doesn’t offer any online registration services, you’ll have to go to the Delaware DMV in person and get your vehicle registered.
To register your vehicle, you have to carry the following documents to the DMV-
- A valid form of identification (Driver’s license or U.S. passport)
- Your vehicle title(s)
- Your new Delaware driver’s license
- Proof of Delaware state automobile liability insurance
- Signature of all owners of the vehicle on the Application for Certificate of Title
- Your current out-of-state vehicle registration
You’ll have to get the Vehicle Identification Number of your vehicle to ensure that the details in the DMV databases match your vehicle. Do keep in mind that you’ll have to present your lease agreement in case your vehicle is leased. Also, don’t forget to get a dealer invoice if you’ve purchased the vehicle with a dealer. You’ll also have to pass a safety and emission inspection at the DMV licensed inspection station after getting your vehicle registered.
Processing fees- The cost of registering your vehicle in Delaware will depend on the vehicle weight and type of service you requested. You’ll have to pay separate fees for inspection, license plates, and transfer of title. To get further information on the fee structure, visit the fee chart on the state’s official website.
Getting A Delaware Driving License When Moving Within Delaware
If you change your place of residence within the state of Delaware, you must update your address on your driver’s license within 30 days of your move. Fortunately, there are two ways to do this process.
You’ll first have to download the change of address form if you want to notify the DMV via mail. Once you’ve printed out the application and filled it out, you can drop it in the mail.
Whom To Mail The Form And Where?
Division of Motor Vehicles,
Driver License Section,
P.O. Box 698, Dover, Delaware 19903.
You can also fill out the same form you filled online physically at an office too. Just make sure you carry documents of proof to show your new residential address in the state.
Processing fees- There is no fee to notify the DMV branch about your new residential address. If you need a duplicate license with your new address, you’ll have to pay a fee of $20.
See also: Best Moving Companies in Delaware
Things To Keep In Mind When Moving Out Of Delaware
You don’t need to notify the state if you’re moving to another state. Delaware DMV will automatically cancel your driver’s license once you get your new license in your new state of residency. While moving out of the state, you need to surrender your Delaware vehicle plates to the Delaware DMV. To do this, you can mail them the plates on this address-
Division of Motor Vehicles,
Attn: Uninsured Motorist Section.
P.O. Box 698, Dover, DE 19903.
Once you move to another state, you’ll have to research the procedures to be followed at your new state’s DMV.
See also: Best Interstate Moving Companies in USA
When you’re moving to a new place, there will be tons of things and paperwork you’ll need to take care of. Since the DMV paperwork is required to be completed in a certain period of time, you shouldn’t delay it. All you have to do is finish the important paperwork like getting your vehicle registered and your driver’s licence updated. After that, you can be at ease and freely go driving around on the streets of Delaware.
How Do I Change My Address With The DMV In Delaware?
You’ll first have to fill the change of address form and then submit it to the Delaware DMV by mail or in person. If you choose to mail, you can send the number of your driver’s license and completed change of address form to the Delaware DMV in Dover.
Can I Change My Address On My Driver’s License Online In Delaware?
Unfortunately, the state of Delaware does not provide any online services. You’ll need to fill out the change of address form, then choose to either visit a Delaware DMV in person or mail the form to the Dover office.
How Much Does A Delaware’s Driver’s License Cost?
The fee for a non-commercial license in Delaware is $40.
What Time Does The Delaware DMV Open?
The Delaware DMV is open from Monday to Friday. Their office timings are as follows:
Monday- 8 am to 4:30 pm
Tuesday- 8 am to 4:30 pm
Wednesday- 11 am to 7 pm
Thursday- 8 am to 4:30 pm Friday- 8 am to 4:30 pm